Chicago Public Media


Chicago Public Media is now accepting nominations for its 3rd Annual Pritzker Fellowships, a unique nine-month professional mentoring program. The Pritzker Fellowships program is designed to fulfill Chicago Public Media’s most important goal: to discover, encourage and train the best possible representatives of a diverse new generation of public media talent. As in the past two years, Pritzker Fellowships will be awarded to twChicago Public Media is now accepting nominations for its 3rd Annual Pritzker Fellowships, a unique nine-month professional mentoring program. The Pritzker Fellowships program is designed to fulfill Chicago Public Media’s most important goal: to discover, encourage and train the best possible representatives of a diverse new generation of public media talent. As in the past two years, Pritzker Fellowships will be awarded to two candidates who aspire to become journalists, who are non-radio professionals, have not earned a degree in journalism and who show promise as radio producers, journalists and storytellers.

The Pritzker Fellows for 2011-12, LeCreshia Birts and Dulce Maria Mora, whose training ends this month, had this to say about their experience:

“I’ve been inspired by the amazing reporters, producers, and editors I’ve encountered and had the pleasure to work with at Chicago Public Media. They put their heart in their stories and they worked very hard to ensure I was able to get the most from my experience. Thanks to the Pritzker Fellowship, I’ve improved my self-confidence and pushed myself to do tasks I formerly viewed as difficult and terrifying. I am confident that I can use the skills and insight I’ve gained for years to come. And I’m excited to take what I’ve learned back into my community,” said Birts.

Added Mora: “The Pritzker Fellowship was truly a dream come true for me. I had the awesome opportunity to learn about radio production and journalism from some of the best in the business. I feel my writing and communication skills have grown incredibly, but what I most value from this experience is seeing the level of dedication and professionalism at Chicago Public Media. No matter who I was working with, everyone was always eager to share their knowledge with me. I can’t wait to share the skills I’ve learned – whether they are directly related to radio or not – and passing them on to others in my community and beyond.”

The Pritzker Fellowships offer high level mentorship and professional development focused on journalism. Based at Chicago Public Media’s WBEZ Radio studios, Pritzker Fellows gain rigorous training in public radio journalism and work alongside some of the nation’s most respected reporters, producers and editors. Instruction will include production and editorial skills, reporting and on-air experience, writing for the air and the web, and multi-media production skills. The two Pritzker Fellows will each receive a stipend of $20,000, plus full health benefits.

All candidates must be nominated for The Pritzker Fellowships by a community-based, not-for-profit organization, including but not limited to neighborhood, religious or social institutions. The program is open to a broad range of individuals, ages and backgrounds, with minority candidates especially encouraged to apply. Candidates must, demonstrate exceptional communication aptitude, not have earned a degree in journalism and not be enrolled in school during the program

More information is available at http://wbez.org/fellowships and the deadline for nominations is 5 p.m., May 18, 2012. The winners will be announced by Chicago Public Media in July. The 2012 Pritzker Fellows will start work in September.

Leave a Reply

