Darius Rucker Wins The Grammy!


thdarius

Hello everybody! I’m back with great Grammy news in country music:) The 2014 Grammy for best solo performance went to none other than the cool black country singer/songwriter/cool dude, himself, Mr. Darius Rucker! If it’s been a secret to some of y’all that black folks like and can even sing country music, then it’s no secret anymore. just sayin’

I love country music and I’m not just saying that because I’m country either, I’m saying that because I grew up listening to folks like Patsy Cline, Dolly Parton, Tammy Wynette, Elvis Presley and my main man Mr. Charley Pride- I know right, A black man singing country music?! go figure. Charlie Pride was the first person of color to integrate what’s been considered white folks music, but just like hip hop isn’t just music for black people, country music isn’t just for whites. Darius Rucker received lots of hate tweets when he became a member of The Grand Ole Opry, but, that didn’t deter him from making great music and singing beautiful country songs.

When Darius Rucker was with Hootie & The Blowfish, the group won two grammys. After the group disbanded, Darius decided to explore the country music genre at full speed ahead and as a fan and fellow black lover of country music, I say “you go man!” Anyhew, Charley Pride paved the way for blacks in country music. He received many awards and recognition, including his star on the Hollywood Walk of Fame and was inducted into The Country Music Hall Of Fame for his love of country music and his gift as a master at his craft.

Darius Rucker is a long time craftman in music. Eighteen years after winning two grammys as a group ( he was lead sing with back up white musicians) Darius Rucker has proven himself over and over again as a master songwriter and solo artist. His song “Wagon Wheel” took top honors over country music artists like Blake Shelton and his wife, Miranda Lambert, Lee Brice and Hunter Hayes.

th darius 2

All this talk about Darius and his music makes me want to pull out my fav CD of the artist, Learn to Live where I sing along to ‘Don’t Think I Don’t Think About It’. ‘It Won’t Be Like This For Long’. While I Still Got The Time’ and ‘Be Wary Of A Woman.’ Got darn it, all of the songs are fabulous, doncha know?

Okay, people, some last bit of 2014 wisdom from the g-mogul. “Music like love doesn’t see color and it’s all good!”

Hey, did y’all miss me? 🙂

holla’

Leave a Reply

