Actress Vanessa Bell Calloway On: Fashion, Work, and Reality TV


As promised I'm sharing great highlights from my interview with the talented mega actress, producer, star of stage and screen, Ms.Vanessa Bell Calloway! And for the record, this g-mogul must care about her peeps and followers out there, because this post was at the top of my to-do list and one that took time to transcribe. Just sayin' and no shade to MS. Calloway for giving me what I asked for in her authentic responses that all y'all need to appreciate.

This is not the complete interview from the busy actress who is currently starring as Zora Neale Hurston in her one woman play,"Letters From Zora...In Her Own Words, at the Crossroads Theatre in New Brunswick, NJ. The show runs from October 9th (my sis birthday) to the 26th and reportedly to rave reviews. Ms. Calloway is also super busy with her popular web series "In The Company of Friends." Check out the clip above.

Letters-From-Zora

Here's some of our interview:

g-mogul- Ms. Calloway, as you know, fashion is all the rage these days, as depicted in magazines, on the red carpet and on the runways. What is Vanessa Bell Calloway's fashion style ( laugh here or snicker, hard to tell):)

response- I don't really know if I have a signature style, but, I do like clothes. I love accessories. I love purses and I love shoes. I just feel what looks good on me and what I like. I don't really care about the designer and I'll put an expensive piece with a piece that's on sale. You know I'm doing the best I can.

g-mogul- Would you ever consider doing Reality TV? This is a lengthy response in regards to reality television because we touched upon how she felt about "established" or "learned" actresses doing a reality TV series like, for instance "Hollywood Divas", the new show on TV One and starring Elise Neal, Countess Vaughn, Golden Brooks, Lisa Wu and Paula Parker Ari.

response- My daughter had a reality show on television called Baldwin Hills and it featured her and my family was featured for quite some time. The show was on for 3 seasons and she was on for 2 of those seasons, which started when she was a junior in high school. Then she was a senior and she graduated and went to SPELMAN. We sort of already did that.

image2

When asked if she'd seen Hollywood Divas and her thoughts on established actresses doing a Reality Series:
Ms. Calloway responds... I don't watch a lot of those shows. I don't know what's it about. ( given a brief synopsis by yours truly) continues:
I think that people do what's best for them. I try not to judge other people motives. I think you do what's best for you...it's not something I'd be interested in, but that's me. It doesn't mean it's not a good thing to do, it just means I won't do it and it's not something I'd be interested in watching cause I don't watch all of those Hollywood Wives and all that stuff.

I don't really like those shows, but that's me and they don't need me to watch. They have a large fan base and their shows are doing quite well...(pause) there's so much on TV these days. You pick what you want, watch what you want and you don't have to criticize it and if you don't want to watch? There's a lot of people who watch it'

Okay, here I had to concur because the g-maven watch all that stuff! What?!

The interview kept going after putting me on hold for a brief moment in time. When we continued Ms. Calloway answered questions in regards to her one woman play where she asked that people on the East coast go and see the play. She also talked about her popular web series ( sneak peek video above) her Radio Talk Show and things her fans might not know about her-

image1-1

Y'all just might have to catch all of that and then some when my conversation ( more than an interview) with Ms. Vanessa Bell Calloway continues. In the meantime and between time, go catch the play, tune into the radio talk show and become a fly on the wall at Ms. Calloway's house where she invites you into her space as she entertains good friends such as Elise Neal, Loretta Devine and Vivica A. Fox ( just to name a few) in her web series "In The Company Of Friends."

That's a wrap people!

holla' and always, "treat yourself special."

One thought on “Actress Vanessa Bell Calloway On: Fashion, Work, and Reality TV

  1. Pingback: Kate Pankoke for Elaya Vaughn — “Behind The Gilded Veil” | Fashion Nexus

Leave a Reply

